The Sacraments are “actions of the Holy Spirit at work in his Body, the Church. They are the ‘masterworks of God’ in the new and everlasting covenant” (Catechism 1116). “The purpose of the Sacraments,” wrote the Fathers of the Second Vatican Council, “is to sanctify human beings, to build up the Body of Christ and, finally, to give worship to God…. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen, and express it.” In the Catholic Church there are seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance (or Reconciliation), Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.

Baptism of Infants and Young Children

At our baptism we pass through the waters, from death to new life in Christ Jesus. We are anointed ‘priest, prophet and king.’ Baptism is the first stage of Christian Initiation, continued at Confirmation, and reaching its culmination in the celebration of the Eucharist.

At Sacred Heart, baptisms of infants and young children (up to age 7) are celebrated during one of the weekend Masses. We celebrate during Mass to highlight the connection between Baptism and Eucharist, so our parishioners can welcome our newest member and support the family of the newly baptized.

Infant Baptism

Parents of Sacred Heart are required to attend a parent preparation class where there will be presentation on the history and importance of Baptism, as well as a chance to explore ways to practice Christian Parenting.

Parents who belong to another parish may have their child baptized at Sacred Heart with written permission from their pastor and proof that they have attended and successfully completed a Baptismal Preparation Program.

  1. Baptism – The Sacrament of Welcome
  2. Baptism Calendar
  3. Baptism Registration Form
  4. Godparent Information
  5. Godparent Sponsor Form
  6. Frequently asked Questions about Godparents